The New Digs

I’ve been in my new apartment for five days now, and it’s still pretty wonderful. I took myself for a little walk this morning around my neighborhood and got my bearings. I haven’t been venturing out much due to the heat and my lingering illness but there is still plenty of time ahead of me.

There are exactly seven steps up to my front door which is arched with beautiful limestone blocks. There are two pomegranate trees, two lemons trees, and one orange tree in the backyard, and a small little back porch perfect for tea sipping in the evenings. I bought a massive bundle of mint which I have hang drying in bunches out there with a few sprigs of Rosemary as well. Flowers are in abundance. There are crickets in the evening, and birds in the morning and the sun is bright and the air humid. Really, I’m not exaggerating or embellishing like some kind of poetic instagram blogger–it’s really all that incredible.

I am a ten minute walk from the public library, five from a fresh produce shop, and two from the nearest bus stop. If I get lonely, there is a thriving local community of street cats and pigeons to talk to as well as warm and lovely neighbors with whom I’ve exchanged a few “good mornings” and “Shabbat Shaloms.” There was a Bar Mitzvah at the house across the street and I was so tempted to crash it with the joyus music and the wide open gates, but figured I wouldn’t spoil their week by spreading whatever plague I seem to have caught.

So for now its a quiet life, me and the fruit trees. Nothing much to report. I am keeping busy with a couple of work projects which are on the hush for now, but you will know soon.

IMG_1124IMG_1125IMG_1118IMG_1121IMG_1123

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Nancy Babcox says:

    Thanks for sharing your journey Anna. The American equivalent to the pink flowers are Beouginvilla (SIC?). Glad you are finding your way. Hugs. Nancy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rebecca Smith says:

    Oh Anna, It looks so perfectly beautiful! I love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lillian says:

    Wonderful…..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment